top of page

Not a Moment--It's the Movement



Before I begin, let me say this: I absolutely love teaching. I love seeing my students' smiling faces every day, like to hope I impact their life in some way, and "going to work" has rarely "felt" like work.


I knew teaching was my calling around 2006: I had just nearly-failed my first class ever (and not for lack of effort): Statistics I.


I was majoring in psychology and planning to continue my schooling into a Master's Program after I had my Bachelor's. My goal was to be a school psychologist or some sort of counselor. I could picture it: Me, sitting with a student or patient, helping them work through the problems they were having. Helping people was always a goal.


...But that Statistics I class put a wrench on the entire plan: knowing there was a whole other section of it I would have to complete the following year, when I hadn't even mastered half of the content we had learned in the first half, I realized I had to switch majors--and fast.


Which brought me to the thought: What else can I do well?




Writing came to mind first, but I couldn't say I felt "safe" betting my income on publishing books or articles. Helping people came to mind next: Some sort of social work, maybe? Next, I thought of teaching.


The last idea came from my junior AP Literature teacher, who, maybe halfway through my second semester of my junior year, asked to speak with me privately and said "Are you sure you're going to study psychology? You really should consider being an English teacher."


It was then, in my second semester of my second year of college (already at "junior" status, I think, by credits), I opted to switch to majoring in English and Secondary Education. Yes, a double-major.


I was 19 and probably crazy, but it was the right choice. From the first moment I was in the classroom (a small, sixth or seventh grade class at a rural school--all I did was read answers to a multiple choice activity!), I knew I was finally doing what I was meant to do.


And, for the most part, I have enjoyed all parts of my job. I like working with other teachers, I like working with my students, and I really do feel like I am helping my students grow as individuals. I feel like I connect with my students, and most days I feel like "I'm in the right place."


Yet, two years ago, in January or February of 2019, I hit that approaching-mid-thirties block of questioning, self-doubt, and "Where-do-I-go-from-here?" I wanted (and still want) something more, but I couldn't figure out what it was.


I do not have a Master's Degree. I want one, and I plan on pursuing one, but I still don't know what field to focus on and it's not the most affordable commitment at present. Because the Master's Degree was "off the table", I started thinking about other options: I thought about how much I like completing work for the state department. I started signing up for all kinds of professional development AND completing my own PD online, hoping somehow I'd figure out some semblance of what it is I want.


Around the same time, I received an email about applying for a professional development opportunity that "Celebrated Teachers" in ways we had not been celebrated before. From the draft agenda for the conference, it seemed as if it was a gathering designed specifically to help teachers make connections, share their accomplishments with other teachers, and just celebrate us. The application process was pretty intense, but I felt like I was qualified and, with my head principal's permission, I submitted a request to be a part of it all--and I was accepted!


It was here, at ECET2, where I crossed paths with my now good friends and colleagues, Andrea and Jada. Andrea, head of middle and secondary education at the state level, and Jada, the 2019 WV Teacher of the Year, put that "bug in my ear" for what I may want to do next. Jada started talking about National Board Certification and, as I was assigned to Jada's table during the conference, Jada saw a "fire under me" she knew Andrea would appreciate with her work at the state level. Everything else happened in rapid succession.


The the rest of the 2018-2019 school year was a whirlwind of quick decisions and commitments. I paid my registration for National Boards. I worked at the state level writing a document to assist IEP teachers with ELA standards. I attended a week-long National Board Training, and was ready to go: the 2019-2020 school year was going to be a series of meetings and other professional development to pursue the National Board Certificaiton, but it was want I needed at the time. I became highly involved in the process, and set my aspirations high: I was planning on completing all four components of my certification (ELA AYA 14-18+) in one year. In the end, I've come pretty close: I've submitted Component 2 and Component 3, and my Component 1 Content Test is this coming Tuesday. If all goes well and I "see those fireworks" on the NBPTS site come December (ish), I'll only have one part of the process left to complete and pass!



But my experience with NBPTS wasn't the only professional development I'd end up completing this 2019-2020 school year. Also on a whim, I applied to become an AP Reader for Literature and Composition in January or February (another complex process), and learned I was accepted in early Spring--this was yet another "yes" I didn't even foresee as attainable this year (or next year, even), but getting that "Welcome Letter" literally made my heart stop (pardon the cliche). I finished scoring AP Literature Essays about a week ago (all online, all remote, per Covid Regulations), and I plan on applying again next year--it was one of the best experiences I've had in my entire teaching career!



And, you guessed it, the opportunities have not stopped yet. Here in a few weeks, I'll be putting time into helping choose our statewide textbooks for ELA, where I will again get to see what another new experience has to offer.


I guess this brings me to the point: at some point in your career, whatever that may be, you may want something a little more than what you are already doing. I encourage you to try everything, say yes to what you think you can handle, and continue to explore your own potential. Now that I have had all of these new, unique experiences in education (not to mention the experience with teaching online this spring AND what I learned from completing a course on how to make "Blended Learning" "work" in the public education system), I have a general idea of what I want to do next, and it could be broken into a few different categories: 1) Curriculum Design, 2) Teaching other Teachers, 3) Designing or Contributing to Assessment, 4) Working at the county or state level.


The aspirations are high, but they're honest. I still am not sure -exactly- what it is I want to do next, but I do know that I will continue exploring my options and will -most likely- be doing something entirely different in the field of education in the next five to ten years.


For now, though, my heart, mind, and commitment is to my students, and I hope I can offer them the same, quality education "come fall" when we go back, no matter what the form (Blended, Full-Online, Full Face-to-Face, or otherwise).


Never underestimate your full potential. Try everything!


And, don't forget to celebrate your "wins"!



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Unexpected Epiphany

When I read The Five People Your Meet in Heaven, I approached it with the same apathetic and disinterested attitude I had when I consumed three and a half (Yes, that’s correct: I couldn’t stomach the

bottom of page