top of page

Interview with an Educator: Kristin Earley (I.1)

Clad in a black tee, nose ring, shag bangs, jeans that echoed of "90s Grunge", and an entire sleeve of literary snapshots, when I entered the AP Summer Institute two years ago, I couldn't help but notice Kristin Earley. Her aura reverberated "Unorthodox Teacher" and, since I proudly identify as “unorthodox” as well, the conversation had to start.

Now there’s my people, I thought.



As the week progressed, our group discussed the changes in the AP Literature test, analyzed literature and poems, discussed the AP Literature rubric, and all those other things expected from a week-ish long (in person!) AP Conference.


Kristin’s intellect, knowledge of literature, an all-around stellar personality was off-the-charts.

Hence the need to showcase her in this series.


Interview 1: High School Teacher Kristin Earley




So, tell us the basics. You know. The demos.

- Sure! I am a teacher in Kanawha County. I’ve been teaching for 6 years, and I currently teach English 11 and AP Literature.

Great! Near Herd Country. I approve. What is one of your proudest accomplishments?


- Over the last few years, I have seen an increase in both my students SAT scores and I have seen an increase in my AP Literature Test Scores.

Well, that’s always something to be proud of! Nice going! Would you mind sharing a fulfilling “teacher moment”?

- My most fulfilling moments often come after my students have graduated. Somehow, they keep coming back, letting me know I’ve impacted their life in some way. And, let’s be real: that’s my only goal as an educator.


You’re right. That IS what’s important. What else can you say about your rapport with students?

- Many of my students not only reflect on content learned, but also comment about how they feel as a student in my room: Students who normally feel ostracized feel safe in my classroom, and to me, that makes it all worth it.

It sounds like you really connect with your students. Why do you think it’s important to remain a West Virginia Educator?

- I stay in West Virginia to be the light that students don’t always find with the “mainstream” teacher population…They see me as a strong ally: I am heavily tattooed; I listen to metal; and at the end of the day, they see me as HUMAN. As a student, to be able to form those connections with an adult “like them” can, in some way, heal some of the trauma they may carry—and studies even prove that! If it weren’t for the hope they find in me, I probably would be living on the West Coast by now.



(Above: Kristin with Mephistopheles, class lizard and personal friend.)


So we’ve talked about all the “positive vibes”. To get a really, really strong picture of you as an educator, I think we should move to a more serious topic, and, since there really is no way to make this question “easy”, I’ll just get right now it: As a teacher, have you ever almost “given up”?


- Truth be told, I’ve almost given A LOT. However, this year, for the first time ever, I cried over my job. The anti-LGBTQ+ and anti-BIPOC legislation being introduced in the WV Legislative Session is sickening: I’m afraid for my students. Even if the bills don’t pass, my students are still privy to the bills’ existence AND what people say about them.

This makes a lot of sense. I worry about this, too and, like you, I am not happy with -anything, really- happening at the legislative level. It’s terrifying. I’m raising my own kiddo to be tolerant and accepting, and, as a true “empath” I know he will struggle to understand why some people believe something different from how he ha been raised to act, care, and love. The “backward trend” is unsettling, and it’s not what I was hoping to see in my teaching career, let alone my life.


- Exactly. These are the kinds of things that make young teachers leave the profession and, ultimately, leave the state.

I can’t argue with you there. You are 100% correct. Let’s hope it doesn’t turn out as grim as it seems to be going. To keep the real “grit” of this going, what other difficulties have you seen this year?

- With remote teaching, one of the biggest struggles this year has been student apathy. When students aren’t in my classroom, it is hard for me to make things interesting. They are unable to see my demeanor and therefore unable to truly interact. Over the course of this year, I’ve really learned that environment is everything: As teachers, we take great pride in our classrooms, and when students are ACTUALLY immersed in YOUR space, they are more likely to learn. It becomes their constant. Their safety. So, now more ever, I try to make my classroom as welcoming as I can, sprinkling little bits of “me” everywhere.


Yes! This really is everything! There’s something about being there, in the now, that makes it all “work”. Without that in-person connection, learning, collaboration, and realistically, “fun”, is nearly impossible. I think it’s safe to say we can really see why you are a stellar WV Educator. What do you think lies in store for you in the future?

- As of now, my plans are everywhere. I write poetry and I would like to self-publish my first book by the end of the year—but it’s terrifying. Plus, I graduated with my MA in English in May, so I’m thinking about looking into teaching classes at Marshall or WVSU. On top of that, I’m a new mom, and sometimes those plans seem a little large, since I’m trying to grow the soul of my small human an all.

Wow! You are one busy gal! And congrats on that Master’s—I’m still over here trying to figure out how to afford one of those! And, when I figure that out, what in the world to focus on.

Also, speaking from experience, that “new mom job” definitely needs to be your focus. It’s all about finding the balance between you, those you love, and that little one. It can be a challenge, but I’m confident someone like you could take on any goal you set your mind to—and knock it out of the park!

P.S. I write, too. Let’s discuss poetry over Zoom someday. Or, maybe even IN PERSON sometime, when the world stops ending and all.


Now, to tie up this interview: Tell us how you’ve grown since that first time you set foot in a classroom.

- I’ve become kind. As a human, I don’t care much for people. However, there’s something about these young people that are gently emerging into adults that really holds that “soft spot” in my heart. In college, we were taught to BE STERN (you know, since we’re young and look young and all), but I learned quickly that fear-tactics aren’t the easiest way to gain trust when teaching young adults. In fact, fear doesn’t gain you ANYTHING. So, my heart has grown soft and I have learned that respect and kindness comes BEFORE content. After all—they can’t really learn if they can’t stand me. So, instead, I treat them like the young adults they are, and I see success.




Kristin Earley: Kanawha County Teacher, Lover of Tattoos, Life-Long Ally.

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Unexpected Epiphany

When I read The Five People Your Meet in Heaven, I approached it with the same apathetic and disinterested attitude I had when I consumed three and a half (Yes, that’s correct: I couldn’t stomach the

bottom of page