top of page

Backyard Talk



As we move closer to June, it is becoming more and more obvious that most of the plans we had for summer will collapse, if they haven't already changed. We had to cancel a much-anticipated trip to Disney World (at least we're hoping to go in June 2021, but it is still a huge let-down that we aren't going in the what-would-be 55 days or so); local pools are announcing continued closure for the 2020 Summer Season; outdoor events like the local street party Jefferson Fridays are being cancelled; and we may not even make it to Kennywood or Sandcastle. Deep down I'm crossing my fingers the Columbus or Pittsburgh Zoo will reopen, but I'm trying not to get my hopes up.


Still, my husband and I are doing our best to stay positive amidst all the changing "norm". We've decided we may purchase some giant, inflatable waterslide thing for our yard, we're considering remodeling our kitchen, and we have accepted that most of our summer "vacation" will be an in-the-area "staycation" limited to only grandparents, siblings, and nieces and nephews. With any luck, maybe we'll be able to visit friends at Tappan Lake come June, or maybe even visit my brother downstate once they are settled in their new home (still can't believe that is happening!)



For now, though, we have accepted that our backyard may be our escape.


We have the luxury of owning the side lot next to our house. Our yard is entirely fenced, making it perfect for picnics, sunbathing, and outdoor play, and it's genuinely larger than the yard I had growing up, even though I now reside "in town". As our yard is going to be our vacation-at-home for the next month (or even all summer), we have spent the weekend getting everything yard-ready for enjoyment.


Friday and Saturday I spent all day outside, weeding, planting, reimagining, and reorganizing. I've never really had much of a "green thumb" (in fact, I kill almost every plant I touch...ouch), but this year I'm going to try -yet again- to have the "pretty" backyard I see on the local news station or on Pinterest.



Not long ago, my husband and my son really "dug into" the crawl space under our house. When we moved in we had found various old garden tools and some bricks and such, but we didn't realize how much was left underneath, and we've been in our house for almost ten years! As Nick and Hudson worked, they discovered even more usable (albeit sometimes obscure or archaic) yard and garden tools, wood beams that are easily as old as the house (which will be 100 next year!), and, to our extreme delight, a series of clay piping.


Which brings us to the super-fun part of this entry. As soon as we saw that clay piping, the light bulbs went off. We've always been ones to repurpose (a cracked crock from a crockpot becomes a home for marigolds, an old wooden table and chair become cute little planters, an animal cracker bear-shaped container becomes a pitcher--true story, what was an antique coffee grinder is rediscovered as fully-functional, and thus, is used.) So, that's what we spent all day yesterday doing: repurposing, redecorating, and upcycling. I give you: Super Mario Warp Pipe Planters!




Now, we have a nice little home-at-home yard space, and all the plants I could care for (and, honestly, I still -kind of- want some more). As we speak, Nick is tilling a small part of the yard for some tomatoes, peppers, a cabbage, a watermelon, and some other odds an ends. My deck is company-ready (even though as mentioned above it will be on "(family) members only", so it seems. And, on top of all of that, we have a lovely little nest of baby robins under our deck.



Although I can't help but dream of Sandcastle, Kennywood, Grand Vue Park, and zoos, I am at least happy in our little space. And, for the time being, I can embrace cups of hot tea on the porch and drawing and writing under the umbrella.


It's not exactly the summer we had envisioned, but it will work for us. :)



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Unexpected Epiphany

When I read The Five People Your Meet in Heaven, I approached it with the same apathetic and disinterested attitude I had when I consumed three and a half (Yes, that’s correct: I couldn’t stomach the

bottom of page