top of page

Find Your Voice

A number of years ago I was asked to join a spoken-word poetry group at our local Towngate Theatre. I performed in a few live shows (some with near full houses!) and then our director received a job offer in another part of the state...and asked me to take over.


For two years (or so), I continued to direct the Wheeling Prosers, organizing poetry recitations (or readings, if someone felt more comfortable with a book in-hand), designing our performances based on themes like "Magic" or "Coffee Talk".


Though I no longer direct the group, I still dabble in spoken-word poetry. Recently, my friend and (now) colleague Renee Storm invited me to perform during a Zoom "World Beyond Talent Showcase". I got to recite an old poem from that "Magic" show, and since then I've picked up that sort of writing again (at least a little!).


Enjoy this video the first poem I've written in a long time and the first I've written during the Covid-19 closures. :)




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page